Skip Navigation

Location Closure The Forest Park, Washington Village, Herring Run, Brooklyn, & Northwood branches are closed for renovations. Learn more here.

Home  /  Research

Research

Research your family history, get homework help, read current newspapers, and more with Pratt Library research resources. Browse subject guides, databases, and digital collections or chat with a librarian to get started. A Pratt Library Card is required to access many of our databases.

Featured Databases

African American Studies Center (Oxford)
View Database
Oxford African American Studies research database

African American Studies Center (Oxford)

Discover more than 10,000 articles, maps, and multimedia resources from top scholars in the fields of African American and African history and culture.

Historical Census Data
View Database
Heritage Quest collage of logo, handwritten names on a bank ledger, and a local steamboat ad

Historical Census Data

HeritageQuest Online contains essential collections of genealogical and historical sources with coverage dating back to the 1700s.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
View Database
Gale Business Entrepreneurship database - logo and Open sign hand photo

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business with sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.

Maryland Newspapers
View Database
Maryland Newspapers - Baltimore Sun, Afro-American, and Baltimore Banner mastheads

Maryland Newspapers

Search current and historical Maryland newspapers, including The Baltimore Banner and over 100 years of the Baltimore Sun and Baltimore Afro-American.

View All Databases

Featured Research Guides

Job Seeker's Toolkit
More Information
Job & Career Center

Job Seeker's Toolkit

Looking for a job in Baltimore? This toolkit is designed to support job-seekers and those who assist job-seekers.

COVID-19 Vaccine Information
More Information
COVID-19 vaccine vials

COVID-19 Vaccine Information

Use this guide to find trusted and reliable news sources related to the Coronavirus COVID-19 vaccine.

Genealogy & Family History Research
More Information
Genealogy and family history research - old family photographs and leaves

Genealogy & Family History Research

Research your family history and genealogy with extensive resources, both in person and online.

Evaluating Old Books
More Information
old books on a shelf with gold embossed leather spines

Evaluating Old Books

Ever wonder how much your old books are worth? The Humanities Collections has resources to help you find out.

View All Research Guides

Got a Question? Ask a Librarian!

During Pratt Library hours you can live chat with a librarian. Prefer to talk on the phone? Call (410) 396-5430 for answers to reference questions.

Chat with a Librarian

Digital Maryland Collections

Providing online access to digital versions of rare and unique materials, including historical maps, photographs, reports, books, manuscripts, artwork, and other media. To view more digital collections from libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions throughout Maryland, visit Digital Maryland.

View the Collection

Central Library Departments

Find librarian expertise, books, media, microfilm, and more in Central Library Departments. Explore Departments related to subjects from Maryland history and fine arts to job seeking and teen resources.

View the Departments

“The Pratt librarians are amazingly helpful. I could not do the research that I have been doing without the live chat services.”

Julie D.

“Excellent library, great resources beyond the standard public library selection, particularly academic resources in the arts.”

Christopher P, Central

“It's a great place for resources and studying when you need a quiet space.”

Celeste H.

“I'm a teacher and the Library is a great resource for my students and their families.”

Kitra K.

“I use the free online research from home that Enoch Pratt provides. The broad scope of research databases is even is better then the Library of Congress's resources.”

Warren R.