Skip Navigation

Location Closure The Herring Run branch will be closed beginning May 5, 2025 for facility improvements.

Location Closure The Forest Park, Washington Village, Reisterstown Road, Brooklyn, & Northwood branches are closed for facility improvements. Learn more here.

Home  /  Research

Research

Research your family history, get homework help, read current newspapers, and more with Pratt Library research resources. Browse subject guides, databases, and digital collections or chat with a librarian to get started. A Pratt Library Card is required to access many of our databases.

Featured Databases

Nature
View Database
database Nature - covers for February 2025 and sample back issues

Nature

Nature is a British weekly scientific journal featuring peer-reviewed research from a variety of academic disciplines, mainly in science and technology.

Black Newspaper Archives
View Database
Black Newspaper Archives - Afro American 1916 front page top

Black Newspaper Archives

Search a range of current and historical Black newspaper archives. Powered by ProQuest.

Baltimore Banner
View Database
Baltimore Banner newspaper - Banner logo and Pratt Library access pass screen example

Baltimore Banner

Stay up to date with local news, politics, business, entertainment, and more from nonprofit paper The Baltimore Banner.

Baltimore Sun
View Database
Baltimore Sun - Maryland Newspaper access - web logo and navigation menu above sample Sun pages

Baltimore Sun

Enjoy free online access to the Baltimore Sun in Pratt Library locations or at home with your Pratt Library card. Stay up-to-date with breaking news, weather, sports, and more.

View All Databases

Featured Research Guides

Civic Engagement
More Information
civic engagement - US flag in front of the Capitol building

Civic Engagement

Your voice matters! Learn about contacting your representatives and researching policy with this guide to civic engagement.

Job Seeker's Toolkit
More Information
Job & Career Center

Job Seeker's Toolkit

Looking for a job in Baltimore? This toolkit is designed to support job-seekers and those who assist job-seekers.

Early Maryland History
More Information
map - early Maryland history

Early Maryland History

Find resources and guidance for researching early Maryland history from the Colonial through the Antebellum periods.

Genealogy & Family History Research
More Information
Genealogy and family history research - old family photographs and leaves

Genealogy & Family History Research

Research your family history and genealogy with extensive resources, both in person and online.

View All Research Guides

Got a Question? Ask a Librarian!

During Pratt Library hours you can live chat with a librarian. Prefer to talk on the phone? Call (410) 396-5430 for answers to reference questions.

Chat with a Librarian

Digital Maryland Collections

Providing online access to digital versions of rare and unique materials, including historical maps, photographs, reports, books, manuscripts, artwork, and other media. To view more digital collections from libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions throughout Maryland, visit Digital Maryland.

View the Collection

Central Library Departments

Find librarian expertise, books, media, microfilm, and more in Central Library Departments. Explore Departments related to subjects from Maryland history and fine arts to job seeking and teen resources.

View the Departments

“I use the free online research from home that Enoch Pratt provides. The broad scope of research databases is even is better then the Library of Congress's resources.”

Warren R.

“It's a great place for resources and studying when you need a quiet space.”

Celeste H.

“Excellent library, great resources beyond the standard public library selection, particularly academic resources in the arts.”

Christopher P, Central

“The Pratt librarians are amazingly helpful. I could not do the research that I have been doing without the live chat services.”

Julie D.

“I'm a teacher and the Library is a great resource for my students and their families.”

Kitra K.