Looking for a Job Opening

Find a Job Opening Online

There are many websites and online job boards where you can browse available job postings. Read insider information on companies regarding jobs, salaries, company reviews, and interview questions through Glassdoor.

• America's Job Exchange focuses on organizational diversity. Includes: veterans job exchange, disability job exchange, diversity job exchange.
• Baltimore Craigslist Postings are broken up into categories. Job search can be limited by different categories, including part-time, telecommute, contract, internship, or non-profit.
• Baltimore Sun Classified Ads through Career Builder. Baltimore City jobs are included, and the web site can also be searched for jobs nationwide.
• Career Builder is an online job marketplace affiliated with 90 newspapers, including the Baltimore Sun. Registered users can also post résumés and set up job alerts.
• Career One-Stop includes a nationwide job-search tool.
• Idealist includes listings for non-governmental organizations, non-profits, and educational institutions.
• Indeed collects job listings from many different websites of all kinds, presenting you with a wide range of vacancies from multiple sources.
• LinkedIn is good for networking and learning from colleagues in your field. From the job search, you can click on a company name to learn more about the organization and who works there.
• LinkUp is a job search engine that focuses on job openings posted directly on company websites.
• Maryland Workforce Exchange lists jobs in the State of Maryland, and includes quick links to areas of the workforce with a high profile or demand, such as green jobs, jobs in cyber security, and jobs at BWI Marshall Airport.
• Monster is a large site listing multiple vacancies. Sign up to upload resumes & apply for jobs.
• SnagAJob lists part-time and full-time hourly jobs and is a great place to look for customer service work, and if you want to start work immediately.
• Jobing is a site connecting job seekers in the Greater Baltimore area with local employers.

Finding University, Federal & Medical Jobs in Maryland

Many of Maryland’s largest employers are Educational, Medical or Government agencies. Review this list from the Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development.

Educational Institutions

Explore vacancies advertised by public and private universities in Maryland. Employment opportunities are listed on the following pages:

• Coppin State University
• Goucher College
• Johns Hopkins University
• Loyola University of Maryland
• Maryland Institute College of Art
• McDaniel College
• Morgan State University
• Notre Dame of Maryland University
• Stevenson University
• St. Mary’s College of Maryland
• University System of Maryland listings include jobs at Coppin State University, Universities at Bowie, Frostburg, Salisbury, Towson, The University of Baltimore and University of Maryland Institutions.

Federal Employement

• Federal jobs are listed at USAjobs.gov.
• The United States Department of Labor provides additional information about the Federal Job application process.

Explore vacancies listed by major Federal employers in Maryland:

• Aberdeen Proving Ground
• Fort George G. Meade
• Joint Base Andrews Naval Air Facility Washington
• National Institutes of Health
• Naval Air Station Patuxent River – Listed with other vacancies in Naval District Washington.
• U.S. Food and Drug Administration
• U.S. Social Security Administration
• Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

State Government Jobs

• Jobs with Maryland’s State Government
• Jobs with the Maryland Department of Transportation
• Jobs with the Maryland Judiciary

Medical Employment

Explore vacancies listed by major Medical Employers in Maryland:

• Johns Hopkins Medicine
• LifeBridge Health
• MedStar Health
• University of Maryland Medical Center

Private Employers

Look for a career with one of the major private-sector employers in Maryland:

• Constellation Energy
• Giant Food
• Home Depot
• Lockheed Martin
• Marriott International
• Northrop Grumman
• SAIC
• Target
• United Parcel Service
• Verizon Maryland
• WalMart
• Wegmans

Employment for Teens

• Information about work permits for minors ages 14-17 in Maryland is available from the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
• Companies That Hire Teens - This site does not indicate which employers are hiring at the moment, but it does show who hires teens, and at what age.
• MyPlan.com - Includes many resources for teens researching career options. A wide variety of resources for career exploration, including a database of career profiles, videos, a salary calculator, and top ten lists, are featured.
• Snag a Job - Job website focusing on hourly employment. Good resource for teens looking for part-time employment. Browsing jobs includes a category for "Teen Jobs."
• Teen Workers: Safety and Health Topics - The Occupational Safety and Health Administration provides information on teen worker safety and health information. The site includes sections for teens, parents, and employers of teen workers.
• Work Permits - Provides detailed information on work permits and employment of minors from the State of Maryland's Division of Labor and Industry.

Employment for Justice Involved/Ex-Offenders

The following tips will help the justice involved and ex-offenders navigate the process of applying and interviewing for a job.

If you need assistance with the reentry process, visit Return Home Baltimore for help with Government IDs, mental health, housing, education, food, legal aid, and more.

Applications

If you are asked about convictions on the application, if possible, write “Will discuss in interview.” Don’t provide a lengthy explanation. Read more about Reentry Resources by County.

Resumes

Consider using a functional resume format, which puts less emphasis on dates and puts the focus on relevant skills and experience instead. Jobs held while incarcerated can be included on the resume by job title. List the employer as the county or the state (i.e. State of Maryland). You can list any training completed in the same way.

Sample Resumes for Criminal Background

Interviews

During an interview, the employer may ask you to explain the criminal charges you indicated on the job application. You may want to bring the topic up yourself so you have the opportunity to explain what happened and ease any concerns they may have.

1. Be honest about having been convicted of a crime. You do not need to provide a lot of details unless they are asked for.
2. Take responsibility for the mistake and express that you learned from it. Discuss what you’ve done since the incident.
3. Summarize your skills, strengths, and experience and remind the employer of the benefits in hiring you, including the Work Opportunities Tax Credit or your eligibility for bonding through the Federal Bonding Program.

Examples:

"While we are discussing my background, there is something you have a right to know. (X number of years ago), I made a serious mistake in judgment and I did something which I regret. I was convicted of a felony based on that mistake and spent (amount of time) incarcerated. I recognize that I made a very poor decision that day and I take full responsibility for my actions. Because of this, I re-evaluated my life and decided I wanted to make a positive change. I took advantage of this time to better myself by taking classes in _____. This training and my prior experience in ____ would be a valuable employee at your company. In addition to getting a dedicated and highly skilled employee, if you hire me I am bondable through the Federal Bonding Program.”

“On the job application, I stated that I had been convicted of a crime, which I said I would explain during the interview. I would like to do that now if it is okay with you. When I was younger, I got mixed up with the wrong crowd and made some mistakes I deeply regret. As a result, I was arrested and sentenced to (years) in prison. However, I used the time to my advantage by completing an air conditioning and heating training program and received my certificate. I’ve researched several air conditioning companies in the area and yours is well respected. I would really like to be a part of your team”

Incentives for Employers

The Work Opportunity Tax Credit is a federal tax credit for employers who hire and retain employees in certain target groups that face significant barriers to employment, including the justice-involved.

The Federal Bonding Program provides fidelity bonding for the first six months of employment for hard-to-place job applicants. Eligible employees receive their bond letter from a local bonding services coordinator at a One-Stop Career Center. The Bonding Services Coordinator for the State of Maryland can be reached at:

Bonding Services Coordinator
1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 616
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
(410) 767-2018
(410) 333-5162 fax

Information sheets from the Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation, Maryland Re-entry Initiative:

• Procedure for Obtaining Federal Bonding Letter of Eligibility
• Federal Bonding Instructions to Job Seekers

Expungement

See if you qualify for expungement at ExpungeMaryland.org.